Home > Blogroll, Uncategorized, War Poetry > Robert Graves and Ireland: A Symposium. Friday 25th November 2011

Robert Graves and Ireland: A Symposium. Friday 25th November 2011

The Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry in association with the Robert Graves Society:
Robert Graves and Ireland: A Symposium
Friday 25th November 2011
Postgraduate Centre, 18 College Green, Belfast

Programme:

9.00am: Registration

9.15am: Welcome: Fran Brearton

9.30am: [Chair: Dunstan Ward] Mary Ann Constantine (University of Wales): ‘I know no country like it’: Graves and the matter of Wales.

10.30am: Coffee break

11.00am-12.30: [Chair: Eamonn Hughes]

Elizabeth Grove White (University of Victoria): ‘Robert Graves’s Irish Inheritances’

Michael McAteer (Queen’s University Belfast): ‘Digging up Graves’: A. P. Graves and Irish Revival

12.30-1.30: LUNCH

1.30-2.45pm: [Chair: Ed Larrissy]
Grigory Kruzhkov (Russian State University for the Humanities) ‘The White Goddess and the Black Centaur; Poetic Mythologies of Graves and Yeats’

Gerald Dawe (Trinity College Dublin) ‘Goodbye to all that: Graves’s war and Irish writing’

2.45-3.15pm: Coffee

3.15-4.30pm: [Chair: Edna Longley]

Jonathan Allison (University of Kentucky) ‘Graves, the goddess and the mirrored man’

Fran Brearton (Queen’s University Belfast) Graves and modern Irish poetry

4.30-5.30pm: John Montague: On Robert Graves

6.00pm: Wine reception and presentation of the Seamus Heaney Centre Poetry Prize.

Details & downloads: http://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/SeamusHeaneyCentreforPoetry/RobertGravesandIrelandSymposium/

Also:-

Poetry Reading by John Montague

Thursday 24 November at 8pm in Crescent Arts Centre, Belfast
Admission Free

  1. 7 July 2013 at 3:07pm

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually bought me breakfast because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this topic here on your web site.

  2. 5 July 2013 at 8:49am

    I delight in, result in I discovered exactly what I used to be having
    a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.

    Have a nice day. Bye

  3. 29 June 2013 at 12:43am

    I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers
    except this article is genuinely a fastidious post, keep it up.

  4. 27 June 2013 at 1:11am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

  5. 25 June 2013 at 9:17am

    Your style is unique compared to other people I have read
    stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
    I will just book mark this site.

  6. 22 June 2013 at 2:13pm

    My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  7. 22 June 2013 at 12:25am

    I know this site gives quality based content and extra material, is there any other website which gives these
    kinds of stuff in quality?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment